Statement

Associated links (R19C0015)

TSB statement concerning CBC report related to TSB investigator comments about the Canadian Pacific freight train accident near Field, BC, in February 2019

Gatineau, Quebec, 28 January 2020  — The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) conducts all of its investigations using a longstanding, systematic methodology and within the scope of its mandate as laid out in the Canadian Transportation Accident Investigation and Safety Board Act (CTAISB Act).

Both the methodology and the CTAISB Act ensure that the exclusive focus of the TSB’s independent transportation safety investigations is to find out what factors caused or contributed to an occurrence, to identify safety deficiencies, and to make recommendations aimed at preventing similar occurrences from happening again.

All TSB investigations—including the TSB investigation into the fatal Canadian Pacific Railway freight train accident that occurred near Field, BC, in February 2019 (R19C0015)—respect paragraph 7(2) of the CTAISB Act, which makes it very clear that it is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Consequently, it was completely inappropriate for the lead TSB investigator in the Field investigation to voice any opinion implying civil or criminal liability. The TSB advised CBC late on 27 January 2020 that it does not share the view of this investigator.

The TSB is committed to conducting an independent, thorough and objective investigation to identify all of the causal and contributing factors that led to this tragic accident. Paragraph 7(2) of the CTAISB Act also states that the Board shall not refrain from fully reporting on the causes and contributing factors merely because fault or liability might be inferred from the Board’s findings.

When the TSB investigates an occurrence, other organizations may conduct their own inquiries into an occurrence for different purposes—including, for instance, police investigations, investigations under the Labour Code, or other judicial proceedings—but that kind of inquiry is outside the TSB’s mandate and is held completely separate from the TSB’s safety investigation.

See more information about the TSB’s independent investigation process.


The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

For more information, contact:
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Media Relations
Telephone: 819-994-8053
Email: media@tsb.gc.ca

Date modified:

Déclaration

Liens connexes (R19C0015)

Déclaration du BST concernant un rapport de CBC lié à des commentaires d’un enquêteur du BST sur l’accident survenu en février 2019 près de Field (C.-B.) mettant en cause un train de marchandises du Canadien Pacifique

Gatineau (Québec), le 28 janvier 2020 — Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) mène toutes ses enquêtes d’après une méthodologie systématique bien établie et d’après son mandat, comme indiqué dans la Loi sur le Bureau canadien d’enquête sur les accidents de transport et de la sécurité des transports (Loi sur le BCEATST).

La méthodologie et la Loi sur le BCEATST font en sorte que les enquêtes indépendantes sur la sécurité des transports du BST sont axées exclusivement sur trouver les facteurs causaux et contributifs à un événement, déterminer les lacunes de sécurité et émettre des recommandations, dans le but d’empêcher que des événements similaires se reproduisent.

Toutes les enquêtes du BST, y compris l’enquête du BST sur l’accident mortel survenu en février 2019 près de Field (Colombie-Britannique) (R19C0015) qui mettait en cause un train de marchandises du Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique, respectent l’alinéa 7(2) de la Loi sur le BCEATST. Il est donc très clair que le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Par conséquent, il était tout à fait inapproprié de la part de l’enquêteur désigné du BST pour l’enquête de Field de donner une opinion par rapport à des responsabilités civiles ou pénales. Le BST a avisé CBC tard le 27 janvier 2020 qu’il ne partage pas l’opinion de cet enquêteur.

Le BST s’engage à mener une enquête indépendante, approfondie et objective pour identifier tous les facteurs causaux et contributifs à ce tragique accident. L’alinéa 7(2) de la Loi sur le BCEATST énonce également que les conclusions du Bureau sur les causes et les facteurs contributifs doivent être complètes, quelles que soient les inférences qu’on puisse en tirer à cet égard.

Lorsque le BST enquête sur un événement, d’autres organismes peuvent mener une enquête sur cet événement pour des motifs différents, y compris, par exemple, une enquête policière, une enquête en vertu du Code canadien du travail et une action judiciaire. Par contre, ces enquêtes ne correspondent pas au mandat du BST et se distinguent complètement d’une enquête du BST sur la sécurité.

Voir de plus amples renseignements sur le processus d’enquête indépendant du BST.


Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
Relations avec les médias
Téléphone: 819–994–8053
Courriel: medias@bst.gc.ca

Date de modification :