Language selection

News release

Associated links (A21P0069)

Encounter with boat wake during takeoff led to 2021 loss of control and overturn of a seaplane in Tofino, British Columbia

Richmond, British Columbia, 6 October 2022 — Today, the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) released its investigation report (A21P0069) into the 2021 occurrence involving a Cessna A185F seaplane operated by Atleo River Air Service Ltd., in Tofino, British Columbia (BC).

On 26 July 2021, an Atleo River Air Service Ltd. Cessna A185F seaplane was conducting a flight from Tofino Harbour Water Aerodrome, BC, to the Hesquiaht First Nation community in Hot Springs Cove, BC, with one pilot and four passengers on board. During takeoff, the aircraft momentarily became airborne, then lost control and cartwheeled, before coming to rest inverted in shallow water. One passenger received serious injuries, the remainder received minor injuries, and the aircraft was substantially damaged.

The investigation determined that the aircraft rate of acceleration was slowed by a boat wake during the take-off run, and the pilot attempted to gain additional distance with a right turn on the water’s surface. The aircraft then lifted off the water at low airspeed, as a result of either a second boat wake or control input. As the aircraft became airborne at a low airspeed and in a right turn, the left wing stalled aerodynamically at too low an altitude for control to be regained before the wing contacted the water.

The investigation also determined that if using estimated passenger weights is permitted without adequate guidance on how to perform a reasonable weight estimate, passenger weights may be underestimated, and lead to the risk of an overweight condition adversely affecting the safety of the flight. As well, if multiple modifications are installed without adequate guidance on how to evaluate and document their cumulative effects on aircraft handling and performance, there is a risk that the aircraft will have unexpected flight characteristics, increasing the possibility for loss of control.

Following the occurrence, Atleo River Air Service Ltd. increased the time between flights by an additional 15 minutes to provide pilots with more time to complete their pre-flight duties.

For more information, see the investigation page.


The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

For more information, contact:
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Media Relations
Telephone: 819-994-8053
Email: media@tsb.gc.ca

Language selection

Communiqué

Liens connexes (A21P0069)

Perte de maîtrise et renversement d’un hydravion à Tofino (Colombie-Britannique) en 2021 : l’hydravion a croisé le sillage d’un navire au décollage

Richmond (Colombie-Britannique), le 6 octobre 2022 — Aujourd’hui, le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a publié son rapport d’enquête (A21P0069) sur l’événement mettant en cause un hydravion Cessna A185F exploité par Atleo River Air Service Ltd., survenu en 2021 à Tofino (Colombie-Britannique).

Le 26 juillet 2021, un hydravion Cessna A185F d’Atleo River Air Service Ltd. effectuait un vol entre l’hydroaérodrome du port de Tofino (Colombie-Britannique) et la communauté de la Première Nation Hesquiaht à Hot Springs Cove (Colombie-Britannique), avec un pilote et quatre passagers à bord. Au cours du décollage, l’aéronef a momentanément pris son envol, puis a subi une perte de maîtrise et a fait la roue avant de s’immobiliser à l’envers dans des eaux peu profondes. Une passagère a été grièvement blessée, les trois autres passagers et le pilote ont été légèrement blessés, et l’aéronef a été lourdement endommagé.

L’enquête a permis de déterminer que le taux d’accélération de l’aéronef a été ralenti par le sillage d’un navire pendant la course au décollage, et le pilote a tenté de prendre plus de distance en effectuant un virage à droite à la surface de l’eau. L’aéronef a ensuite décollé de la surface de l’eau à une faible vitesse indiquée en raison d’un deuxième sillage de navire ou d’une commande. Alors que l’aéronef prenait son envol à une faible vitesse indiquée et dans un virage à droite, l’aile gauche a subi un décrochage aérodynamique à une altitude trop basse pour que la maîtrise puisse être reprise avant que l’aile ne percute l’eau.

L’enquête a également permis de déterminer que si l’utilisation des poids estimés des passagers est autorisée sans directives appropriées sur la manière d’effectuer une estimation de poids raisonnable, il se peut que les poids des passagers soient sous-estimés et qu’il s’en suive un risque de surcharge compromettant la sécurité du vol. De plus, si plusieurs modifications sont apportées sans directives appropriées sur la façon d’évaluer et de consigner leurs effets cumulatifs sur les manœuvres et la performance de l’aéronef, il y a un risque que l’aéronef ait des caractéristiques de vol inattendues, ce qui augmente la possibilité de perte de maîtrise.

À la suite de l’événement, Atleo River Air Service Ltd. a augmenté la durée entre ses vols de 15 minutes dans le but d’accorder plus de temps aux pilotes pour effectuer leurs tâches avant un vol.

Voir la page d’enquête pour plus d’information.


Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
Relations avec les médias
Téléphone : 819–994–8053
Courriel : medias@bst.gc.ca