Marine transportation safety investigation M18P0257

Table of contents

Crew fall overboard from rescue boat

Roll-on/roll-off passenger ferry Spirit of Vancouver Island
Swartz Bay, North Saanich
British Columbia
31 August 2018

View final report

The occurrence

On , 2 crew members from the roll-on/roll-off passenger ferry Spirit of Vancouver Island fell from the vessel’s No. 1 rescue boat into the water below while participating in emergency drills at Swartz Bay Ferry Terminal in North Saanich, British Columbia. Vessel crew retrieved the 2 crew members from the water, and local emergency health services brought them to the hospital. One crew member was treated for minor injuries, the other was uninjured, and both were released later that day. The rescue boat sustained minor damage to its bottom hull.


Investigation information

Map showing the location of the occurrence


Investigator-in-charge

Photo of Zillur Rahman

Zillur Rahman began his career as an engineering cadet and currently holds a Transport Canada Class-1 (Motor) Certificate of Competency. In his 25 years of experience as an engineer, he has held several positions both sea-going and shore-based, with such companies and organizations as: Neptune Orient Lines (now American President Lines); Mediterranean Shipping Company; Barber Ship Management; and BC Ferries. His experience includes work with tankers, chemical tankers, bulk carriers, container ships, and roll-on-roll-off passenger ferries.


Photos


  Download high-resolution photos from the TSB Flickr page.

Class of investigation

This is a class 3 investigation. These investigations analyze a small number of safety issues, and may result in recommendations. Class 3 investigations are generally completed within 450 days. For more information, see the Policy on Occurrence Classification.

TSB investigation process

There are 3 phases to a TSB investigation

  1. Field phase: a team of investigators examines the occurrence site and wreckage, interviews witnesses and collects pertinent information.
  2. Examination and analysis phase: the TSB reviews pertinent records, tests components of the wreckage in the lab, determines the sequence of events and identifies safety deficiencies. When safety deficiencies are suspected or confirmed, the TSB advises the appropriate authority without waiting until publication of the final report.
  3. Report phase: a confidential draft report is approved by the Board and sent to persons and corporations who are directly concerned by the report. They then have the opportunity to dispute or correct information they believe to be incorrect. The Board considers all representations before approving the final report, which is subsequently released to the public.

For more information, see our Investigation process page.

The TSB is an independent agency that investigates air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation occurrences. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Date modified:

Enquête de sécurité du transport maritime M18P0257

Table des matières

Membres d’équipage tombés à la mer depuis une embarcation de sauvetage

Traversier roulier à passagers Spirit of Vancouver Island
Swartz Bay, North Saanich (Colombie-Britannique)
31 août 2018

Voir le rapport final

L'événement

Le , 2 membres d’équipage du traversier roulier à passagers Spirit of Vancouver Island qui participaient à des exercices d’urgence à la gare maritime de Swartz Bay à North Saanich (Colombie-Britannique) sont tombés à l’eau depuis l’embarcation de sauvetage no 1. L’équipage du navire a repêché les 2 membres d’équipage. Ces derniers ont été transportés à l’hôpital par les services d’urgences de santé locaux. L’un d’eux a été soigné pour des blessures mineures et l’autre était indemne. Tous 2 ont obtenu leur congé plus tard dans la journée. Le dessous de la coque de l’embarcation de sauvetage a été légèrement endommagé.


Informations d'enquête

Carte de la région


Enquêteur désigné

Photo de Zillur Rahman

Zillur Rahman a commencé sa carrière en tant qu’élève ingénieur et est détenteur d’un certificat de mécanicien de première classe de Transports Canada. Au fil de ses 25 années d'expérience en tant qu’ingénieur, il a occupé plusieurs postes à la fois en mer et à terre, au sein d’entreprises et d’organisations telles que Neptune Orient Lines (maintenant American President Lines), Mediterranian Shipping Company, Barber Ship Management et BC Ferries. Il possède de l’expérience de travail relative aux pétroliers, aux chimiquiers, aux vraquiers, aux porte-conteneurs et aux transbordeurs rouliers de passagers.


Photos


  Voir des images en haute résolution sur la page Flickr du BST.

Catégorie de l’enquête

Cette enquête est une enquête de catégorie 3. Dans le cadre de ces enquêtes, on analyse un petit nombre de problèmes de sécurité. Parfois, ces enquêtes donnent lieu à des recommandations. Les enquêtes de catégorie 3 se concluent généralement en 450 jours. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la Politique de classification des événements.

Processus d'enquête du BST

Une enquête du BST se déroule en 3 étapes :

  1. L'étape du travail sur le terrain : une équipe d'enquêteurs examine le lieu de l'événement et l'épave, interviewe les témoins et recueille toute l'information pertinente.
  2. L'étape d'examen et d'analyse : le BST examine toute la documentation liée au dossier, effectue des tests en laboratoire sur des composantes de l'épave, établit la chronologie des événements et identifie toute lacune en matière de sécurité. Lorsque le BST soupçonne ou constate des lacunes en matière de sécurité, il en informe sans tarder les organismes concernés sans attendre la parution du rapport final.
  3. L'étape de production du rapport : une version confidentielle du rapport est approuvée par le Bureau et envoyée aux personnes et organismes qui sont directement touchés par le rapport. Ceux-ci ont l'occasion de contester ou de corriger l'information qu'ils jugent erronée. Le Bureau tient compte de toutes les observations fournies avant d'approuver la version définitive du rapport, qui est ensuite publiée.

Vous trouverez de plus amples détails à la page sur le Déroulement des enquêtes.

Le BST est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements de transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Date de modification :