Language selection

About the TSB

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) is an independent agency created by an Act of Parliament (the Canadian Transportation Accident Investigation and Safety Board Act) on 29 March 1990 with the mandate to advance safety in air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation in Canada.

Transcript of the video about the TSB

The phone rings in the middle of the night. There's been an accident, and somewhere in Canada, the men and women who work at the Transportation Safety Board prepare to go to work.

At the TSB, our mandate is to advance transportation safety by conducting independent investigations into selected transportation occurrences, whether marine, pipeline, rail, or aviation. That means finding out what happened, why it happened, and what needs to be done to prevent it from happening again. With eight regional offices—in addition to our headquarters and engineering laboratory in the national capital region—we can deploy to any corner of Canada, and beyond our borders when required.

An investigation's initial days are busy with what's known as the “field phase.” We arrive at the accident site and begin to document what we find: the environment, the wreckage … anything relevant to the investigation. We conduct interviews with witnesses, survivors, and company representatives, as well as gather maintenance and training records, and weather information. If there's a voice or data recorder, we'll take it with us, or download the information it contains for further study.

The next steps are all about the science. Our experts disassemble engines, brakes, rotors, and instrumentation. If it moves, whirs or hums, we'll look inside to see what role it may have played. Materials analysis, photogrammetry, a digital x-ray, and 3-D laser scanning … we have some sophisticated equipment at our disposal.

And then there's the human element. What did the crew see? What about the regulations, the operational environment, or organizational factors including safety management? No one ever sets out to have an accident, so how exactly did events unfold? In other words, if we can understand the factors underlying the decisions that were made, we may be able to gain valuable insight.

The last step is to write a report that states the facts, explains our analysis, and communicates our findings to Canadians. If risks continue to exist, we point them out, and when strong safety action is required, we make compelling arguments for change—until all safety deficiencies are addressed. That said, we don't always wait until the conclusion of an investigation to communicate. If we identify pressing safety issues we immediately inform the regulator and industry.

Since the TSB was created in 1990, the men and women who work here have been a dedicated group, passionate about their work. Whether they're investigators, laboratory engineers or scientists, communications specialists, IT and human resources experts, or finance and administrative support, they all share a common mission: making Canada safer. And so as the transportation industry and the landscape continue to evolve, we'll keep pushing for the changes that need to be made. That's our commitment—to Canada and to the world.

Organizational structure

The Board itself has up to five members, including a chairperson (see the current members). A staff of about 220, led by the chief operating officer and the Executive Committee, supports the Board (see the organizational structure and A career with the TSB).

Location

The TSB's head office is in Gatineau, Quebec, but most of its investigators work from field offices across the country so that they can respond quickly to transportation occurrences (either accidents or incidents) anywhere in Canada.

Mandate

The TSB's mandate—as described in the Act that governs its work—is to advance safety in air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation by

While it is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability, the Board reports fully on the causes and contributing factors of an occurrence, even in cases where fault or liability might be inferred from the Board's findings. Findings of the Board are not binding on the parties to any legal, disciplinary, or other proceedings.

To instill public confidence in the TSB, it is essential that the agency be free of any conflict of interest when investigating accidents, identifying safety deficiencies, and making recommendations. That is why the TSB is independent and separate from other government departments. It currently reports to Parliament through the President of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada.

The TSB and other organizations

The TSB's mandate is distinct from those of other organizations such as Transport Canada, the Canadian Energy Regulator, the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, the Canadian Coast Guard, and the Department of National Defense, all of which have a role in the transportation sector.

As an independent federal agency, the TSB is not associated with any of these organizations. It does, however, cooperate with them when conducting investigations and making safety recommendations.

When the TSB investigates an accident, no federal department except the Department of National Defense and the Royal Canadian Mounted Police may investigate for the purpose of making findings as to the causes and contributing factors of the accident.

Transport Canada and the Canadian Energy Regulator may investigate for any other purpose, such as regulatory infractions.

International collaboration

The TSB, a leader in its field, shares knowledge and experience with the international transportation safety community to advance transportation safety worldwide. The Agency also participates in foreign investigations to represent Canadian interests and, occasionally, to provide investigation services (see International collaboration).

Language selection

À propos du BST

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) est un organisme indépendant créé le 29 mars 1990 par une loi du Parlement (la Loi sur le Bureau canadien d'enquête sur les accidents de transport et de la sécurité des transports). Il a pour mission de promouvoir la sécurité du transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier.

Texte du video sur le BST

Le téléphone sonne en plein milieu de la nuit. Un accident vient de se produire. Quelque part au Canada, des employés du Bureau de la sécurité des transports se préparent à partir travailler.

Au BST, notre mandat consiste à promouvoir la sécurité des transports en menant des enquêtes indépendantes sur des événements choisis qui touchent les modes de transport maritime, ferroviaire, aérien ou par pipeline. À cette fin, nous devons découvrir ce qui s'est passé, pourquoi cela s'est passé et ce qu'il faut faire pour empêcher que la situation ne se reproduise. Avec huit bureaux régionaux, en plus de notre administration centrale et de notre Laboratoire dans la région de la capitale nationale, nous pouvons déployer des équipes d'enquête aux quatre coins du Canada et même à l'extérieur des frontières lorsque nécessaire.

Les premiers jours d'une enquête sont très occupés par le « travail de terrain ». Nous arrivons sur le lieu de l'accident et commençons à documenter ce que nous y découvrons : l'environnement, l'épave, bref, tout ce qui pourrait être pertinent pour l'enquête. Nous interrogeons les témoins, les survivants et des représentants de l'entreprise en cause et obtenons les dossiers de maintenance et de formation ainsi que les données météorologiques. S'il y a un enregistreur de conversations ou de données de voyage, nous le prenons ou nous téléchargeons les renseignements qu'il contient pour les étudier ultérieurement.

Les étapes suivantes sont axées sur la science. Nos experts démontent les moteurs, les freins, les rotors et les instruments. Nous regardons à l'intérieur de tout ce qui tourne, vrombit ou ronronne pour comprendre s'il a pu jouer un rôle. Analyse des matériaux, photogrammétrie, radiographie numérique, caméra 3D à balayage laser... Nous disposons d'équipement sophistiqué.

Et il ne faut pas oublier l'élément humain. Qu'a vu l'équipage? Qu'en est-il de la réglementation, de l'environnement d'exploitation ou des facteurs organisationnels, y compris la gestion de la sécurité? Personne ne cherche à avoir un accident, alors comment cela est-il arrivé exactement? Autrement dit, si nous pouvons comprendre les facteurs qui sous-tendent les décisions prises, nous pourrons peut-être en tirer des leçons utiles.

La dernière étape consiste à rédiger un rapport qui décrit les faits, explique notre analyse et communique nos conclusions aux Canadiens. Si des risques persistent, nous les faisons ressortir, et si des mesures énergiques sont nécessaires pour garantir la sécurité, nous formulons des arguments convaincants à l'appui du changement jusqu'à ce que toutes les lacunes de sécurité aient été corrigées. Cela dit, nous n'attendons pas toujours la fin d'une enquête pour communiquer. Si nous découvrons des problèmes de sécurité pressants, nous en informons immédiatement les organismes de réglementation et l'industrie.

Depuis la fondation du BST en 1990, les hommes et les femmes qui y travaillent forment un groupe dévoué qui se passionne pour son travail. Qu'ils soient enquêteurs, ingénieurs ou chercheurs à notre laboratoire, spécialistes des communications, experts des technologies de l'information ou des ressources humaines, ou encore qu'ils fassent partie du personnel de soutien administratif ou des finances, ils contribuent tous à notre mission commune : rendre le Canada plus sûr. C'est pourquoi, à mesure que l'industrie du transport et son contexte poursuivront leur évolution, nous continuerons de militer en faveur des changements nécessaires. C'est notre engagement envers le Canada et le reste du monde.

Structure de l’organisation

Le Bureau lui-même compte jusqu'à cinq membres, y compris un président ou une présidente (consultez la liste des membres actuels). Un effectif de quelque 220 employés appuie le Bureau, sous la direction de l'administrateur en chef des opérations et du Comité exécutif (consultez l'organigramme du BST et Une carrière au BST).

Emplacement

L'administration centrale du BST se trouve à Gatineau (Québec), mais la plupart de ses enquêteurs travaillent à partir des bureaux régionaux disséminés dans tout le pays de façon à pouvoir se rendre rapidement sur les lieux d'un événement (un incident ou un accident) de transport n'importe où au Canada.

Mandat

La mandat du BST, tel qu'énoncée dans la Loi qui régit ses activités, consiste à promouvoir la sécurité du transport aérien, ferroviaire, maritime et pipelinier :

Bien que le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales, il rend pleinement compte des causes et des facteurs ayant contribué à un accident, quelles que soient les inférences qu'on puisse tirer de ses faits établis à l'égard de toute faute ou responsabilité éventuelle. Les constatations du Bureau ne lient les parties à aucune procédure judiciaire, disciplinaire ou autre.

Pour s'attirer la confiance du public, il est primordial que le BST évite tout conflit d'intérêts lorsqu'il enquête sur les accidents, cerne les lacunes en matière de sécurité et formule des recommandations. C'est pour cette raison que le BST est indépendant et distinct des autres ministères fédéraux. Il rend actuellement des comptes au Parlement par l'entremise du Président du Conseil privé de la Reine pour le Canada.

Le BST et les autres organismes

La mission du BST est indépendante de celles des autres organismes du gouvernement comme Transports Canada, la Régie de l’énergie du Canada, la Gendarmerie royale du Canada, la Garde côtière canadienne et le ministère de la Défense nationale, qui jouent tous un rôle dans le domaine des transports.

En tant qu'entité fédérale indépendante, le BST n'est associé à aucun de ces organismes bien qu'il collabore avec eux lors de la conduite d'enquêtes et dans la formulation de recommandations en matière de sécurité.

Lorsque le BST fait enquête sur un accident, aucun autre ministère fédéral (à l'exception de la Défense nationale et de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada) ne peut faire enquête afin d'en dégager les causes et les facteurs.

Transports Canada et la Régie de l’énergie du Canada peuvent faire enquête à toutes autres fins, comme dans le cas d'infractions à la réglementation.

Collaboration internationale

Le BST, un chef de file dans son domaine, fait profiter la communauté internationale de la sécurité des transports de ses connaissances et de son expérience afin de rendre les transports plus sûrs dans le monde entier. Il participe en outre à des enquêtes à l'étranger pour représenter les intérêts canadiens et, à l'occasion, pour offrir des services d'enquête (consultez la page Collaboration internationale).