Quarterly financial report for the quarter ended June 30, 2015

Introduction

This quarterly report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board. This quarterly report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates.

The Transportation Safety Board's (TSB) sole objective is to advance transportation safety. This mandate is fulfilled by conducting independent investigations into selected transportation occurrences. The purpose of these investigations is to identify the causes and contributing factors and the safety deficiencies evidenced by an occurrence. The TSB then reports publicly and makes recommendations to improve safety and reduce or eliminate risks to people, property and the environment.

The quarterly report has not been subject to an external audit or review.

Basis of presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the Transportation Safety Board's spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the department. Authorities include amounts granted through the Main Estimates for the 2015-16 fiscal year and any respendable revenue earned and available for use to quarter end. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

As part of the departmental performance reporting process, the TSB prepares its annual departmental financial statements on a full accrual basis in accordance with Treasury Board accounting policies, which are based on Canadian generally accepted accounting principles for the public sector. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

Highlights of fiscal quarter and fiscal year to date results

Statement of authorities

TSB’s total authorities available for use increased by $679,000 between fiscal years 2014-15 and 2015-16. This increase is explained mainly by $677,000 of additional funding for compensation adjustments which is included in the department's reference levels at the beginning of the year as of 2015-16. Fiscal year 2014-15 also received funding for this purpose, however, due to the timing of the expenditure management process, the increase in funding was only received in the third quarter of 2014-15.

Statement of departmental budgetary expenditures

The department's quarterly and year-to-date spending are lower by $1,490,000 or 18% in the current year compared to 2014-15. Fiscal year 2014-15 had exceptional expenditures which increased its first quarter spending, specifically:

  • a charge of $721,000 to implement the payment of salaries in arrears by the Government of Canada, without impacting employees on salary at the date of implementation;
  • the expenditure of $612,000 for the receipt and installation of an X-Ray Computed Tomography System; and
  • an increase in personnel expenditures of $189,000 due to an increase in severance payments attributable to the liquidating of accumulated severance benefits as per collective agreements.

In 2015-16, first quarter expenditures returned to expected levels.

As illustrated in Figure 1, the TSB has spent approximately 23% of its authorities at the end of the first quarter. This is consistent with expectations given that the department's most significant expense is salaries. The TSB's spending is generally distributed equally throughout the year. The difference of 5% when compared to previous year can be explained by the significant transactions which increased 2014-15 expenditures in the first quarter as described above.

Figure 1. First quarter expenditures compared to annual authorities

Risks and uncertainties

The TSB is funded through annual appropriations. As a result, its operations are impacted by any changes in funding approved through Parliament. As a departmental corporation, it has authority to spend revenues received during the year although such revenues are minimal; on average less than 1% of the department's funding requirements.

A continuous risk to TSB's financial situation is that expenditures are greatly influenced by the number and complexity of transportation occurrences. A significant transportation accident or a flurry of smaller size occurrences could significantly increase expenditures and result in resource pressures that could require the department to seek additional funding from Parliament.

Furthermore, as announced in Budget 2014, departmental operating budgets are frozen for 2014-15 and 2015-16. This presents a risk to the TSB since it will not be allocated any funding for wage and salary increases that take effect during that period, or for the ongoing impact of those adjustments. As a result, the department will need to cover these amounts within its existing appropriations. The TSB is implementing additional spending restraints to ensure this risk is mitigated.

Significant changes in relation to ooperations, personnel and programs

Over the past two years, there has been an increased number of significant rail accidents investigated by TSB under its mandate. The number of open rail occurrence investigations in the previous year was among the highest in recent years. It is important to note that many of these investigations are ongoing into 2015-16 and future years. With heightened public expectations of railway safety, there has been a significant increase in activities within the rail occurrence investigations program. In addition to incremental workload for investigation deployments and follow-ups, this program has experienced increased public and stakeholder interest in the form of media communications and access to information requests. In fiscal years 2013-14 and 2014-15, additional funding was received through Supplementary Estimates in order for the TSB to meet its mandate regarding this program.

Approval by senior officials

Approved by,

Source document signed by
Kathleen Fox
Chair

Source document dated 2015-08-20
Date
Gatineau, Canada

Source document signed by
Chantal Lemyre, CPA, CGA
Chief Financial Officer

Source document dated 2015-08-19
Date
Gatineau, Canada

Statement of authorities (unaudited)

Fiscal year 2015-16 (in thousands of dollars)Footnote 1
  Total available for use for the year ending
March 31, 2016
Expended during the quarter ended
June 30, 2015
Year to date
used at quarter-end
Main Estimates: Vote 1 - Net operating expenditures 26,290 5,827 5,827
Main Estimates: Statutory authorities - Employee Benefit Plans 3,440 860 860
Statutory authorities - Spending of proceeds from the disposal of surplus Crown assets 4 1 1
Statutory authorities - Expenditures Re: Paragraph 29.1(1) of the Financial Administration Act 5 - -
Total authorities available for use 29,739 6,688 6,688
Fiscal year 2014-15 (in thousands of dollars)Footnote 1
  Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2015 Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2014 Year to date used at quarter-end
Main Estimates: Vote 1 - Net operating expenditures 25,757 7,357 7,357
Main Estimates: Statutory authorities - Employee Benefit Plans 3,285 821 821
Statutory authorities - Spending of proceeds from the disposal of surplus Crown assets 14 - -
Statutory authorities - Expenditures Re: Paragraph 29.1(1) of the Financial Administration Act 4 - -
Total authorities available for use 29,060 8,178 8,178

Statement of expenditures by standard object (unaudited)

Fiscal year 2015-16 (in thousands of dollars)Footnote 1
Expenditures: Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2016 Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2015 Year to date used at quarter-end
Personnel 23,913 5,945 5,945
Transportation and communications 1,620 257 257
Information 121 26 26
Professional and special services 2,490 241 241
Rentals 339 157 157
Repair and maintenance 466 8 8
Utilities, materials and supplies 275 50 50
Acquisition of land, building and works 115 - -
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 400 4 4
Other subsidies and payments - - -
Total net budgetary expenditures 29,739 6,688 6,688
Fiscal year 2014-15 (in thousands of dollars)Footnote 1
Expenditures: Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2015 Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2014 Year to date used at quarter-end
Personnel 23,194 6,119 6,119
Transportation and communications 1,526 164 164
Information 135 29 29
Professional and special services 1,956 267 267
Rentals 200 168 168
Repair and maintenance 404 50 50
Utilities, materials and supplies 270 30 30
Acquisition of land, building and works - - -
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 645 630 630
Other subsidies and payments 730 721 721
Total net budgetary expenditures 29,060 8,178 8,178

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Includes only authorities granted by Parliament at quarter end.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Rapport financier trimestriel pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2015

Introduction

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction tel qu'exigé par l'article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor. Ce rapport trimestriel devrait être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses.

Le seul objectif du Bureau de la sécurité des transports (BST) est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Il s'acquitte de ce mandat en menant des enquêtes indépendantes sur certains événements de transport. Le but de ces enquêtes est d'identifier les causes et les facteurs contributifs et les lacunes de sécurité mises en évidence par un événement. Le BST publie ensuite un rapport et formule des recommandations pour améliorer la sécurité et réduire ou éliminer les risques pour les personnes, les biens et l'environnement.

Ce rapport trimestriel n'a pas fait l'objet d'une vérification externe ou d'un examen.

Méthode de présentation du rapport

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L'état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser du BST accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par le ministère. Les autorisations incluent les montants octroyés dans le Budget principal des dépenses pour l'exercice financier 2015-2016 ainsi que tous revenus gagnés et disponibles pour une utilisation à la fin du trimestre. Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d'information financière à l'égard de l'utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l'autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l'entremise de lois sur les crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l'entremise de lois sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Le BST utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice intégrale pour la préparation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel, conformément aux politiques comptables du Conseil du Trésor, lesquelles sont conformes aux principes comptables généralement reconnus au Canada pour le secteur public. Toutefois, les autorisations de dépenser votées par le Parlement sont encore en fonction d'une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

État des autorisations

Le financement total disponible au BST a augmenté de 679 000 $ entre les exercices financiers 2014-2015 et 2015-16. Cette augmentation est expliquée par un financement supplémentaire reçu pour des ajustements de rémunération. À partir de 2015-2016, ces fonds sont inclus dans les niveaux de références du ministère en début d'année. Un montant a aussi été reçu en 2014-2015 pour le même but, cependant, en raison du calendrier du processus de gestion des dépenses, l'augmentation du financement n'a été reçue qu'au troisième trimestre de 2014-2015.

Étatdes dépenses ministérielles budgétaires

Les dépenses trimestrielles et cumulatives du ministère sont inférieures de 1 490 000 $ ou de 18 % au cours de l'exercice courant par rapport à celles de 2014-2015. L'exercice 2014-2015 a encouru des dépenses exceptionnelles qui ont augmenté les dépenses du premier trimestre, en particulier :

  • une charge de 721 000 $ liée à un paiement de transition exceptionnel versé par le gouvernement du Canada pour mettre en œuvre le paiement des salaires en arriérage, sans affecter la paie des employés sur le registre des salaires à la date de mise en œuvre;
  • des dépenses de 612 000 $ pour la réception et l'installation d'un système de tomodensitométrie par rayons X; et
  • une augmentation des dépenses de personnel de  189 000 $ en raison d'une augmentation des indemnités de départ attribuable à la liquidation des indemnités de départ accumulées selon les conventions collectives.

En 2015-2016, les dépenses du premier trimestre sont retournées aux niveaux prévus.

Comme l'illustre la figure 1, le BST a dépensé environ 23 % de ses autorisations à la fin du premier trimestre. Ceci est conforme avec les prévisions étant donné que la dépense la plus importante du ministère est salariale. Les dépenses du BST sont généralement réparties de manière égale tout au long de l'année. La différence de 5% par rapport à l'année précédente peut être expliquée par les opérations importantes qui ont augmenté les dépenses de 2014-2015 dans le premier trimestre comme décrit ci-dessus.

Figure 1. Dépenses du premier trimestre par rapport aux autorisations annuelles

Risques et incertitudes

Le BST est financé au moyen de crédits annuels. Par conséquent, ses activités sont touchées par tous changements apportés au financement approuvé par le Parlement. En tant qu'établissement public, il est autorisé à dépenser les recettes perçues pendant l'exercice  malgré le fait que ces recettes sont minimes, elles représentent en moyenne moins de 1 % des besoins de financement du ministère.

Un risque continu à la situation financière du BST est que les dépenses sont en grande partie influencées par le nombre et la complexité des événements de transport. Un accident de transport important ou un ensemble d'événements de moindre importance pourrait faire augmenter considérablement les dépenses et entraîner des pressions sur les ressources qui pourraient faire en sorte que le ministère ait à demander des fonds supplémentaires du Parlement.

De plus, dans le budget de 2014, il a été annoncé que les budgets de fonctionnement des ministères sont gelés pour 2014-2015 et 2015-2016. Cela représente un risque pour le BST, car aucun financement ne lui sera alloué pour couvrir les augmentations salariales entrant en vigueur pendant cette période, ou les effets continus de ces ajustements. Par conséquent, le ministère devra couvrir ces montants en utilisant ses propres crédits. Le BST fait la mise en œuvre de restrictions supplémentaires des dépenses afin de s'assurer que ce risque est atténué.

Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Au cours des deux dernières années, il y a eu une augmentation dans le nombre d'accidents ferroviaires significatifs enquêtés par le BST sous son mandat.  Le nombre d'enquêtes ouvertes sur les événements ferroviaires au cours de l'année précédente est parmi les plus élevés au cours des dernières années. Il est important de noter que beaucoup de ces enquêtes sont en cours en 2015-2016 et continueront dans les années suivantes. Les attentes accrues du public quant à la sécurité ferroviaire font en sorte qu'il y a eu une augmentation significative des activités au sein du programme des enquêtes d'événements ferroviaires. En plus de la charge de travail supplémentaire pour les déploiements d'enquête et les suivis, ce programme a connu un intérêt accru du public et des intervenants sous forme de communications des médias et les demandes d'accès à l'information. Au cours des exercices 2013-2014 et 2014-2015, le BST a reçu du financement supplémentaire au moyen des budgets supplémentaires des dépenses afin de remplir son mandat en ce qui concerne ce programme.

Approbation des cadres supérieurs

Document de source signée par
La présidente,
Kathleen Fox

Document de source signée 2015-08-20
Date
Gatineau, Canada

Document de source signée par
La dirigeante principale des finances
Chantal Lemyre, CPA, CGA

Document de source signée 2015-08-19
Date
Gatineau, Canada


État des autorisations (non vérifié)

Exercice 2015-2016 (en milliers de dollars)Note de bas de page 1
  Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016 Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2015 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Budget principal des dépenses : Crédit 1 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 26 290 5 827 5 827
Budget principal des dépenses : Autorisations législatives budgétaires – Régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés 3 440 860 860
Autorisations législatives budgétaires – Dépenses des produits de l'aliénation des biens meubles en surplus de la Couronne 4 1 1
Autorisations législatives budgétaires – Dépenses paragraphe 29.1(1) de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques 5 - -
Autorisations totales pour utilisation 29 739 6 688 6 688
Exercice 2014-2015 (en milliers de dollars)Note de bas de page 1
  Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015 Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2014 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Budget principal des dépenses : Crédit 1 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 25 757 7 357 7 357
Budget principal des dépenses : Autorisations législatives budgétaires – Régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés 3 285 821 821
Autorisations législatives budgétaires – Dépenses des produits de l'aliénation des biens meubles en surplus de la Couronne 14 - -
Autorisations législatives budgétaires – Dépenses paragraphe 29.1(1) de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques 4 - -
Autorisations totales  pour utilisation 29 060 8 178 8 178

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifiées)

Exercice 2015-2016 (en milliers de dollars)Note de bas de page 1
Dépenses: Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016 Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2015 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Personnel 23 913 5 945 5 945
Transports et communications 1 620 257 257
Information 121 26 26
Services professionnels et spéciaux 2 490 241 241
Location 339 157 157
Services de réparation et d'entretien 466 8 8
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 275 50 50
Acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et ouvrages 115 - -
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 400 4 4
Autres subventions et paiements - - -
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 29 739 6 688 6 688
Exercice 2014-2015 (en milliers de dollars)Note de bas de page 1
Dépenses: Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015 Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2014 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Personnel 23 194 6 119 6 119
Transports et communications 1 526 164 164
Information 135 29 29
Services professionnels et spéciaux 1 956 267 267
Location 200 168 168
Services de réparation et d'entretien 404 50 50
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 270 30 30
Acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et ouvrages - - -
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 645 630 630
Autres subventions et paiements 730 721 721
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 29 060 8 178 8 178

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Ne comprend que les autorisations accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1