Quarterly financial report for the quarter ended December 31, 2014

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Introduction

This quarterly report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board. This quarterly report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates as well as Canada's Economic Action Plan 2012 (Budget 2012).

The Transportation Safety Board's (TSB) sole objective is to advance transportation safety. This mandate is fulfilled by conducting independent investigations into selected transportation occurrences. The purpose of these investigations is to identify the causes and contributing factors and the safety deficiencies evidenced by an occurrence. The TSB then reports publicly and makes recommendations to improve safety and reduce or eliminate risks to people, property and the environment.

The quarterly report has not been subject to an external audit or review.

Basis of presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the Transportation Safety Board's spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the department. Authorities include amounts granted through the Main Estimates for the 2014-15 fiscal year and any respendable revenue earned and available for use to quarter end. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

As part of the departmental performance reporting process, the TSB prepares its annual departmental financial statements on a full accrual basis in accordance with Treasury Board accounting policies, which are based on Canadian generally accepted accounting principles for the public sector. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

Highlights of fiscal quarter and fiscal year to date results

Statement of authorities

From fiscal year 2013-14 to 2014-15, the TSB's Vote 1 program expenditures authorities decreased by $580K or 2%. The change is mainly due to the net effect of the factors below:

  • funding approved in 2013-14 through Supplementary Estimates B of $887K for the investigation of the rail accident in Lac-Mégantic, Quebec;
  • a reduction in operating budget carry forward funding between years of $147K ($657k in 2014-15 compared to $804k in 2013-14);
  • a reduction of $372K for savings measures announced in Budget 2012 (a reduction of $1,118K implemented for fiscal year 2014-15 compared to a reduction of $746K implemented for fiscal year 2013-14);
  • the above decreases are offset by incremental funding received in the 3rd quarter of 2014-15 for compensation adjustments of $784K.

An amount of $21k of TSB's funding has been established as a frozen allotment by Treasury Board Secretariat for the web renewal initiative and for the Canada School of Public Service (CSPS) new direction. This frozen allotment reduces the department's authorities available for use.

From fiscal year 2013-14 to 2014-15, the TSB's statutory authorities for employee benefit plans decreased by $146K or 4%, mainly due to the change in rate set by Treasury Board Secretariat for Employee Benefit Plans (16.5% of salaries in 2014-15 compared to 17.4% in 2013-14).

The TSB has additional statutory authorities totaling $38K at the end of the third quarter generated by proceeds from the disposal of surplus Crown assets and its authority to respend revenues as a departmental corporation.

Statement of departmental budgetary expenditures

The TSB's third quarter expenditures in 2013-14 are higher than in 2014-15 by $848k, and can be mainly explained by costs incurred for the Lac-Mégantic investigation in 2013-14. The department's year-to-date spending is higher by $1,200K or 5% in the current year compared to 2013-14. The increase in expenditures can be attributed to the following significant transactions:

  • a transition charge of $723K to implement the payment of salaries in arrears by the Government of Canada, without impacting employees on salary at the date of implementation; and
  • the expenditure of $622K for the receipt and installation of an X-Ray Computed Tomography System, which had been planned for the last quarter of 2013-14 but delivery was delayed by the supplier to the first quarter of 2014-15.

As illustrated in Figure 1, the TSB has spent approximately 76% of its authorities at the end of the third quarter. This is approximately 6% greater than the previous year which can be mainly explained by the significant transactions which increased the year-to-date expenditures as described above.

Figure 1. Third quarter expenditures compared to annual authorities

Risks and uncertainties

The TSB is funded through annual appropriations. As a result, its operations are impacted by any changes in funding approved through Parliament. As a departmental corporation, it has authority to spend revenues received during the year although such revenues are minimal; on average less than 1% of the department's funding requirements.

A continuous risk to TSB's financial situation is that expenditures are greatly influenced by the number and complexity of transportation occurrences. A significant transportation accident or a flurry of smaller size occurrences could significantly increase expenditures and result in resource pressures that could require the department to seek additional funding from Parliament.

Furthermore, as announced in Budget 2014, departmental operating budgets are frozen for 2014-15 and 2015-16. This presents a risk to the TSB since it will not be allocated any funding for wage and salary increases that take effect during that period, or for the ongoing impact of those adjustments. As a result, the department will need to cover these amounts within its existing appropriations. The TSB is implementing additional spending restraints to ensure this risk is mitigated.

Significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs

During 2013-14, the TSB initiated a major occurrence investigation following the July 6, 2013 derailment of a train carrying petroleum crude oil in the center of the town of Lac-Mégantic, Quebec. In 2013-14, the TSB received additional funding in Supplementary Estimates B to cover incremental investigation costs for the field phase and the analysis phase of up to $965K for this significant investigation. The Lac-Mégantic investigation continued to represent significant workload for the TSB in 2014-15, most significantly in the areas of overtime, short-term staff, contractors and travel. The release of the final Lac-Mégantic investigation report took place in August 2014 and the estimated 2014-15 incremental costs to close out the investigation are $340K.

Budget 2012 implementation

This section provides an overview of the savings measures announced in Budget 2012 that are being implemented in order to refocus government and programs; make it easier for Canadians and business to deal with their government; and, modernize and reduce the back office.

Budget 2012 called upon the TSB to reduce its expenditures by $1,283K by 2014-15, a net reduction of approximately 4.3% of its 2012-13 budget. For fiscal year 2014-15, the reduction of $1,283K consists of a reduction in the TSB's operating vote of $1,118K and a reduction in the statutory authorities for employee benefit plans of $165K. The TSB has eliminated positions and reduced discretionary spending in order to achieve the reductions in funding.

During 2014-15, the TSB is continuing to review its operations to identify efficiencies to ensure that it meets the 2014-15 funding reductions and maintains the reduced budget levels for future fiscal years. To date, the TSB has implemented the funding reductions without impacting the number or quality of investigations or the timeliness of its safety communications.

Approval by senior officials

Approved by,

Source document signed by
Kathleen Fox
Chair

Source document dated 2015-02-10
Date
Gatineau, Canada

Source document signed by
Chantal Lemyre, CPA, CGA
Chief Financial Officer

Source document dated 2015-02-09
Date
Gatineau, Canada


Statement of authorities (unaudited)

Fiscal year 2014-15 (in thousands of dollars)Footnote 1
  Total available for use for the
year ending March 31, 2015
Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2014 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 1 – Program expenditures 27,198 6,341 20,818
Statutory authorities - Employee Benefit Plans 3,442 821 2,464
Statutory authorities - Spending of proceeds from the disposal of surplus Crown assets 16 - 1
Statutory authorities - Expenditures Re: Paragraph 29.1(1) of the Financial Administration Act 22 - -
Total authorities 30,678 7,162 23,283
Frozen allotments – Web renewal and CSPS -21 - -
Total authorities available for use 30,657 7,162 23,283
Fiscal year 2013-14 (in thousands of dollars)Footnote 1
  Total available for use for the
year ending March 31, 2014
Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2013 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 10 – Program expenditures 27,778 7,100 19,378
Statutory authorities - Employee Benefit Plans 3,588 860 2,652
Statutory authorities - Spending of proceeds from the disposal of surplus Crown assets 45 42 45
Statutory authorities - Expenditures Re: Paragraph 29.1(1) of the Financial Administration Act 18 8 8
Total authorities 31,429 8,010 22,083
Budget 2013 – Frozen travel funding -24 - -
Total authorities available for use 31,405 8,010 22,083

Statement of expenditures by standard object (unaudited)

Fiscal year 2014-15 (in thousands of dollars)Footnote 1
Expenditures Planned expenditures for the
year ending March 31, 2015
Expended during the quarter
ended December 31, 2014
Year to date used
at quarter end
Personnel 24,135 6,108 18,837
Transportation and communications 1,699 355 913
Information 150 26 72
Professional and special services 2,219 447 1,393
Rentals 360 61 294
Repair and maintenance 445 91 223
Utilities, materials and supplies 250 37 140
Acquisition of land, building and works 0 0 0
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 690 37 687
Other subsidies and payments 730 0 724
Sub-total net budgetary expenditures 30,678 7,162 23,283
Frozen allotment – reduction applied to Professional and special services -21 - -
Total net budgetary expenditures 30,657 7,162 23,283
Fiscal year 2013-14 (in thousands of dollars)Footnote 1
Expenditures Planned expenditures for the
year ending March 31, 2014
Expended during the quarter
ended December 31, 2013
Year to date used
at quarter end
Personnel 24,141 6,427 18,456
Transportation and communications 2,104 496 1,182
Information 167 20 65
Professional and special services 2,909 790 1,605
Rentals 341 70 290
Repair and maintenance 357 83 202
Utilities, materials and supplies 340 40 151
Acquisition of land, building and works 223 17 20
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 847 67 112
Sub-total net budgetary expenditures 31,429 8,010 22,083
Budget 2013 - Frozen travel funding
Reduction applied to Transportation and communications
-24 - -
Total net budgetary expenditures 31,405 8,010 22,083

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Includes only authorities granted by Parliament at quarter end.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Rapport financier trimestriel se terminant le 31 décembre 2014

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Introduction

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction tel qu'exigé par l'article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor. Ce rapport trimestriel devrait être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses et les budgets supplémentaires des dépenses ainsi que le Plan d'action économique du Canada 2012 (Budget 2012).

Le seul objectif du Bureau de la sécurité des transports (BST) est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Il s'acquitte de ce mandat en menant des enquêtes indépendantes sur certains événements de transport. Le but de ces enquêtes est d'identifier les causes et les facteurs contributifs et les lacunes de sécurité mises en évidence par un événement. Le BST publie ensuite un rapport et formule des recommandations pour améliorer la sécurité et réduire ou éliminer les risques pour les personnes, les biens et l'environnement.

Ce rapport trimestriel n'a pas fait l'objet d'une vérification externe ou d'un examen.

Méthode de présentation du rapport

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L'état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser du BST accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par le ministère. Les autorisations incluent les montants octroyés dans le Budget principal des dépenses pour l'exercice financier 2014-2015 et tous revenus gagnés et disponibles pour une utilisation à la fin du trimestre. Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d'information financière à l'égard de l'utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l'autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l'entremise de lois sur les crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l'entremise de lois sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Le BST utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice intégrale pour la préparation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel, conformément aux politiques comptables du Conseil du Trésor, lesquelles sont conformes aux principes comptables généralement reconnus au Canada pour le secteur public. Toutefois, les autorisations de dépenser votées par le Parlement sont encore en fonction d'une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

État des autorisations

Les autorités disponibles des dépenses de fonctionnement  du crédit 1  du BST ont diminué de 580 $ milliers de dollars ou 2% entre les exercices financiers  2013-2014 et 2014-2015. Cette différence est expliquée par les facteurs suivants :

  • un financement approuvé en 2013-2014 dans le cadre du Budget supplémentaire des dépenses B de 965 $ milliers de dollars pour l'enquête sur l'accident ferroviaire à Lac-Mégantic, Québec.
  • une baisse de financement du report du budget de fonctionnement (RBF) de 147 $ milliers de dollars (657 $ milliers de dollars en 2014-2015 comparativement à 804 $ milliers de dollars en 2013-2014)
  • une réduction de 372 $ milliers de dollars pour les mesures d'économie annoncées au Budget 2012 (une réduction de 1 118 $ milliers de dollars mise en œuvre pour l'exercice financier 2014-2015 comparativement à une réduction de 746 $ milliers de dollars mise en œuvre pour l'exercice financier 2013-2014); et
  • les diminutions ci-dessus sont contrebalancées par le rajustement de la rémunération de 784 $ milliers de dollars reçus au cours du troisième trimestre de 2014-2015.

Un montant de 21 $ milliers de dollars du financement du BST est établi comme une affectation bloquée par le Secrétariat du conseil du trésor (SCT) pour l'initiative du renouvellement du site web et pour la restructuration de l'École de la fonction publique du Canada (EFPC). Cette affectation bloquée réduit les autorisations disponibles pour utilisation du ministère.

Les autorisations législatives du BST pour le  régime d'avantages sociaux ont diminué de 146 $ milliers de dollars ou 4%, principalement en raison du changement du taux établi par le Secrétariat du conseil du trésor  pour  les régimes d'avantages sociaux (16,5 % des salaires en 2014-2015 par rapport à 17,4 % en 2013-2014).

Le BST a des autorisations législatives additionnelles totalisant 38 $ milliers de dollars à la fin du troisième trimestre, générées par le produit  de l'aliénation des biens excédentaires de l'État et l'autorisation de dépenser les recettes en tant qu'établissement public.

État des dépenses ministérielles budgétaires

Les dépenses du troisième trimestre  pour l'exercice financier 2013-2014 sont plus élevées qu'en 2014-2015 de 848 $ milliers de dollars, et principalement attribuables aux dépenses engagées  pour l'enquête à Lac-Mégantic en 2013-2014. Les dépenses cumulatives du ministère sont supérieures de 1 200 $ milliers de dollars ou de 5 % au cours de l'exercice courant par rapport à celles de 2013-2014. Cette augmentation des dépenses peut être attribuable aux facteurs suivants :

  • une charge de 723 $ milliers de dollars afin de mettre en œuvre le paiement de transition versé par le gouvernement du Canada pour les arriérés de salaire, sans affecter la paie des employés sur le registre des salaires à la date de mise en œuvre;
  • des dépenses de 622 $ milliers de dollars pour la réception et l'installation d'un système de tomodensitométrie par rayons X, qui avaient été prévues pour le dernier trimestre de 2013-2014, dont la livraison a été reportée par le fournisseur jusqu'au premier trimestre de 2014-2015;

Comme l'illustre la figure 1, le BST a dépensé environ 76 % de ses autorisations à la fin du troisième trimestre. Cela représente des dépenses d'environ 6 % plus grandes que celles de l'exercice précédent, ce qui s'explique par les importantes opérations qui ont augmenté les dépenses depuis le début de l'année, comme expliquées ci-dessus.

Figure 1. Dépenses du deuxième trimestre par rapport aux autorisations annuelles

Risques et incertitudes

Le BST est financé au moyen de crédits annuels. Par conséquent, ses activités sont touchées par tous changements apportés au financement approuvé par le Parlement. En tant qu'établissement public, il est autorisé à dépenser les recettes perçues pendant l'exercice malgré le fait que ces recettes sont minimes, elles représentent en moyenne moins de 1 % des besoins de financement du ministère.

Un risque continu à la situation financière du BST est que les dépenses sont en grande partie influencées par le nombre et la complexité des événements de transport. Un accident de transport important ou un ensemble d'événements de moindre importance pourrait faire augmenter considérablement les dépenses et entraîner des pressions sur les ressources qui pourraient faire en sorte que le ministère ait à demander des fonds supplémentaires du Parlement.

De plus, dans le budget de 2014, il a été annoncé que les budgets de fonctionnement des ministères sont gelés pour 2014-2015 et 2015-2016. Cela représente un risque pour le BST, car aucun financement ne lui sera alloué pour couvrir les augmentations salariales entrant en vigueur pendant cette période, ou les effets continus de ces ajustements. Par conséquent, le ministère devra couvrir ces montants en utilisant ses propres crédits. Le BST fait la mise en œuvre des restrictions supplémentaires du financement afin de s'assurer que ce risque est atténué.

Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Au cours de l'exercice 2013-2014, le BST a commencé une enquête sur un accident majeur, soit le déraillement d'un train transportant du pétrole brut au centre-ville de Lac-Mégantic au Québec le 6 juillet 2013. En 2013-2014, le BST a reçu des fonds additionnels allant jusqu'à 965 $ milliers de dollars dans le cadre du Budget supplémentaire B afin de couvrir les coûts d'enquête différentiels encourus pendant les phases de travail sur le terrain et d'analyse de cette importante enquête. L'enquête de Lac-Mégantic représente toujours une lourde charge de travail pour le BST en 2014-2015, en particulier dans les domaines des heures supplémentaires, du personnel à court terme, des entrepreneurs et des déplacements. La publication du rapport final de l'enquête de Lac-Mégantic a eu lieu en août 2014 et le coût différentiel estimé en 2014-2015 pour la conclusion de l'enquête est de 340 $ milliers de dollars à la fin du troisième trimestre.

Mise en œuvre du Budget 2012

La présente section donne un aperçu des mesures d'économie annoncées dans le Budget 2012 et qui sont mises en œuvre dans le but de recentrer le gouvernement et les programmes, de faciliter les rapports des Canadiens et des entreprises avec leur gouvernement ainsi que de moderniser et de rationaliser les services administratifs.

Le budget de 2012 exige au BST de réduire ses dépenses de fonctionnement par 1 283 $ milliers de dollars d'ici 2014-2015, une réduction nette d'environ 4,3 % de son budget de 2012-2013. Pour l'exercice 2014-2015, la réduction du financement de 1 283 $ milliers de dollars consiste d'une réduction des crédits de fonctionnement du BST de 1 118 $ milliers de dollars et d'une réduction de l'autorisation législative pour régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés de 165 $ milliers de dollars. Le BST a éliminé des postes et a réduit les dépenses dans les services professionnels et les services spéciaux ainsi que dans les transports et les communications afin de satisfaire aux réductions de financement.

Au cours de l'exercice 2014-2015, le BST continue à revoir ses opérations en vue d'identifier les efficacités, de veiller à répondre aux réductions de financement de 2014-2015 et de maintenir les niveaux budgétaires réduits au cours des exercices financiers à venir. Jusqu'à présent, le BST a mis en œuvre les réductions de financement sans compromettre le nombre ou la qualité de ses enquêtes ou la ponctualité de ses communications en matière de sécurité.

 

Approbation des cadres supérieurs

Approuvé par :

Document de source signée par
La présidente,
Kathleen Fox

Document de source signée 2015-02-10
Date
Gatineau, Canada

Document de source signée par
La dirigeante principale des finances
Chantal Lemyre, CPA, CGA

Document de source signée 2015-02-09
Date
Gatineau, Canada


État des autorisations (non vérifié)

Exercice 2014-2015 (en milliers de dollars)Note de bas de page 1
  Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015 Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2014 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Budget principal des dépenses : Crédit 1 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 27 198 6 341 20 818
Budget principal des dépenses : Autorisations législatives budgétaires – Régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés 3 442 821 2 464
Autorisations législatives budgétaires – Dépenses des produits de l'aliénation des biens excédentaires de l'État 16 - 1
Autorisations législatives budgétaires – Dépenses paragraphe 29.1(1) de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques 22 - -
Total des autorisations 30 678 7 162 23 283
Affectation Bloquée – renouvellement du site web et EFPC -21 - -
Autorisations totales pour utilisation 30 657 7 162 23 283
Exercice 2013-2014 (en milliers de dollars)Note de bas de page 1
  Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2014 Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2013 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 10 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 27 778 7 100 19 378
Autorisations législatives budgétaires – Régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés 3 588 860 2 652
Autorisations législatives budgétaires – Dépenses des produits de l'aliénation des biens excédentaires de l'État 45 42 45
Autorisations législatives budgétaires – Dépenses paragraphe 29.1(1) de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques 18 8 8
Total des autorisations 31 429 8 010 22 083
Budget 2013 - Affectation bloquée pour dépenses de voyage -24 - -
Autorisations totales pour utilisation 31 405 8 010 22 083

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifiées)

Exercice 2014-2015 (en milliers de dollars)Note de bas de page 1
Dépenses Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015 Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2014 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Personnel 24 135 6 108 18 837
Transports et communications 1 699 355 913
Information 150 26 72
Services professionnels et spéciaux 2 219 447 1 393
Location 360 61 294
Services de réparation et d'entretien 445 91 223
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 250 37 140
Acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et ouvrages 0 0 0
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 690 37 687
Autres subventions et paiements 730 0 724
Sous-total  des dépenses budgétaires nettes 30 678 7 162 23 283
Affectation bloquée – réduction appliquée aux Services professionnels et spéciaux -21 - -
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 30 657 7 162 23 283
Exercice 2013-2014 (en milliers de dollars)Note de bas de page 1
Dépenses Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2014 Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2013 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Personnel 24 141 6 427 18 456
Transports et communications 2 104 496 1 182
Information 167 20 65
Services professionnels et spéciaux 2 909 790 1605
Location 341 70 290
Services de réparation et d'entretien 357 83 202
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 340 40 151
Acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et ouvrages 223 17 20
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 847 67 112
Sous-total des dépenses budgétaires nettes 31 426 8 010 22 083
Budget 2013 - Affectation bloquée pour dépenses de voyage
Réduction appliquée aux Transports et communications
-24 - -
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 31 405 8 010 22 083

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Ne comprend que les autorisations accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1