Quarterly financial report for the quarter ended September 30, 2014

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Introduction

This quarterly report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board. This quarterly report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates as well as Canada’s Economic Action Plan 2012 (Budget 2012).

The Transportation Safety Board’s (TSB) sole objective is to advance transportation safety. This mandate is fulfilled by conducting independent investigations into selected transportation occurrences. The purpose of these investigations is to identify the causes and contributing factors and the safety deficiencies evidenced by an occurrence. The TSB then reports publicly and makes recommendations to improve safety and reduce or eliminate risks to people, property and the environment.

The quarterly report has not been subject to an external audit or review.

Basis of presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the Transportation Safety Board’s spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the department. Authorities include amounts granted through the Main Estimates for the 2014-15 fiscal year and any respendable revenue earned and available for use to quarter end. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

As part of the departmental performance reporting process, the TSB prepares its annual departmental financial statements on a full accrual basis in accordance with Treasury Board accounting policies, which are based on Canadian generally accepted accounting principles for the public sector. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

Highlights of fiscal quarter and fiscal year to date results

Statement of authorities

The TSB received $29,042K in funding through the Main Estimates ($25,757K for operating expenditures and $3,285K for employee benefit plans). During the second quarter, the TSB received its operating budget carry forward (OBCF) from 2013-14 which represents an increase in authorities of $657K. The TSB has additional statutory authorities totaling $24K at the end of the second quarter generated by proceeds from the disposal of surplus Crown assets and its authority to respend revenues as a departmental corporation.

The TSB’s total authorities available for use increased by $126K between fiscal years 2014-15 and 2013-14. The change in authorities at second quarter is explained by the following factors:

  • a timing difference in the allocation of the OBCF from the previous year. In 2014-15, the OBCF of $657k was allocated in second quarter, whereas in 2013-14, the OBCF funding was not received until third quarter;
  • a reduction of $437K for savings measures announced in Budget 2012 (a reduction of $1,283K implemented for fiscal year 2014-15 compared to a reduction of $846K implemented for fiscal year 2013-14); and
  • a decrease in the rate set by Treasury Board Secretariat for Employee Benefit Plans (16.5% of salaries in 2014-15 compared to 17.4% in 2013-14).

Statement of departmental budgetary expenditures

The department’s year-to-date spending is higher by $2,048K or 15% in the current year compared to 2013-14. The increase in expenditures can be attributed to the following factors:

  • a transition charge of $723K to implement the payment of salaries in arrears by the Government of Canada, without impacting employees on salary at the date of implementation;
  • the expenditure of $622K for the receipt and installation of an X-Ray Computed Tomography System, which had been planned for the last quarter of 2013-14 but delivery was delayed by the supplier to the first quarter of 2014-15;
  • an increase in personnel expenditures due to $360K of economic increases in employee salaries under collective agreements and an increase in severance payments of $340K which is primarily attributable to liquidating of accumulated severance benefits as per collective agreements; and
  • an increase in professional services costs of $131K or 16% in the current year resulting from the transfer of compensation services to a shared services provider and an increase in legal fees.

These increases are offset by lower spending of $128K or 19% in spending on transportation and communications in the current year, mainly due to lower travel requirements.

As illustrated in Figure 1, the TSB has spent approximately 54% of its authorities at the end of the second quarter. This is approximately 6% greater than the previous year which can be mainly explained by the significant transactions which increased the year-to-date expenditures as described above.

Figure 1. Second quarter expenditures compared to annual authorities

Risks and uncertainties

The TSB is funded through annual appropriations. As a result, its operations are impacted by any changes in funding approved through Parliament. As a departmental corporation, it has authority to spend revenues received during the year although such revenues are minimal; on average less than 1% of the department’s funding requirements.

A continuous risk to TSB’s financial situation is that expenditures are greatly influenced by the number and complexity of transportation occurrences. A significant transportation accident or a flurry of smaller size occurrences could significantly increase expenditures and result in resource pressures that could require the department to seek additional funding from Parliament.

Furthermore, as announced in Budget 2014, departmental operating budgets are frozen for 2014-15 and 2015-16. This presents a risk to the TSB since it will not be allocated any funding for wage and salary increases that take effect during that period, or for the ongoing impact of those adjustments. As a result, the department will need to cover these amounts within its existing appropriations. The TSB is implementing additional spending restraints to ensure this risk is mitigated.

Significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs

During 2013-14, the TSB initiated a major occurrence investigation following the July 6, 2013 derailment of a train carrying petroleum crude oil in the center of the town of Lac-Mégantic, Quebec. In 2013-14, the TSB received additional funding in Supplementary Estimates B to cover incremental investigation costs for the field phase and the analysis phase of up to $965K for this significant investigation. The Lac-Mégantic investigation continued to represent significant workload for the TSB in 2014-15, most significantly in the areas of overtime, short-term staff, contractors and travel. The release of the final Lac-Mégantic investigation report took place in August 2014 and the estimated 2014-15 incremental costs to close out the investigation are $340K.

Budget 2012 implementation

This section provides an overview of the savings measures announced in Budget 2012 that are being implemented in order to refocus government and programs; make it easier for Canadians and business to deal with their government; and, modernize and reduce the back office.

Budget 2012 called upon the TSB to reduce its expenditures by $1,283K by 2014-15, a net reduction of approximately 4.3% of its 2012-13 budget. For fiscal year 2014-15, the reduction of $1,283K consists of a reduction in the TSB’s operating vote of $1,118K and a reduction in the statutory authorities for employee benefit plans of $165K. The TSB has eliminated positions and reduced spending on transportation and communications in order to achieve the reductions in funding.

During 2014-15, the TSB is continuing to review its operations to identify efficiencies to ensure that it meets the 2014-15 funding reductions and maintains the reduced budget levels for future fiscal years. To date, the TSB has implemented the funding reductions without impacting the number or quality of investigations or the timeliness of its safety communications.

Approval by senior officials

Approved by,

Source document signed by
Kathleen Fox
Chair

Source document dated 2014-11-24
Date
Gatineau, Canada

Source document signed by
Chantal Lemyre, CPA, CGA
Chief Financial Officer

Source document dated 2014-11-24
Date
Gatineau, Canada


Statement of authorities (unaudited)

Fiscal year 2014-15 (in thousands of dollars)Footnote 1

  Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2015 Expended during the quarter ended September 30, 2014 Year to date used at quarter-end
Main Estimates: Vote 1 - Net operating expenditures 26,414 7,120 14,477
Main Estimates: Statutory authorities - Employee Benefit Plans 3,285 822 1,643
Statutory authorities - Spending of proceeds from the disposal of surplus Crown assets 16 1 1
Statutory authorities - Expenditures Re: Paragraph 29.1(1) of the Financial Administration Act 8 - -
Total authorities available for use 29,723 7,943 16,121

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Includes only authorities granted by Parliament at quarter end.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Fiscal year 2013-14 (in thousands of dollars)Footnote 1

  Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2014 Expended during the quarter ended September 30, 2013 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 10 - Net operating expenditures 26,063 6,518 12,278
Statutory authorities - Employee Benefit Plans 3,505 896 1,792
Statutory authorities - Spending of proceeds from the disposal of surplus Crown assets 45 3 3
Statutory authorities - Expenditures Re: Paragraph 29.1(1) of the Financial Administration Act 8 - -
Total authorities 29,621 7,417 14,073
Budget 2013 – Frozen travel funding -24 - -
Total authorities available for use 29,597 7,417 14,073

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Includes only authorities granted by Parliament at quarter end.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Statement of expenditures by standard object (unaudited)

Fiscal year 2014-15 (in thousands of dollars)Footnote 1

Expenditures Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2015 Expended during the quarter ended September 30, 2014 Year to date used at at quarter end
Personnel 23,194 6,610 12,729
Transportation and communications 1,699 395 558
Information 150 17 46
Professional and special services 2,219 678 946
Rentals 260 65 233
Repair and maintenance 495 82 132
Utilities, materials and supplies 301 73 103
Acquisition of land, building and works 0 0 0
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 675 20 650
Other subsidies and payments 730 3 724
Total net budgetary expenditures 29,723 7,943 16,121

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Includes only authorities granted by Parliament at quarter end.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Fiscal year 2013-14 (in thousands of dollars)Footnote 1

Expenditures Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2014 Expended during the quarter ended September 30, 2013 Year to date used at quarter end
Personnel 23,520 6,193 12,029
Transportation and communications 1,799 439 686
Information 142 27 45
Professional and special services 2,350 530 815
Rentals 230 63 220
Repair and maintenance 479 58 119
Utilities, materials and supplies 332 67 111
Acquisition of land, building and works 165 3 3
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 604 37 45
Sub-total net budgetary expenditures 29,621 7,417 14,073
Budget 2013 - Frozen travel funding
Reduction applied to Transportation and communications
-24 - -
Total net budgetary expenditures 29,597 7,417 14,073

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Includes only authorities granted by Parliament at quarter end.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Rapport financier trimestriel se terminant le 30 septembre 2014

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Introduction

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction tel qu’exigé par l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor. Ce rapport trimestriel devrait être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses et les budgets supplémentaires des dépenses ainsi que le Plan d’action économique du Canada 2012 (Budget 2012).

Le seul objectif du Bureau de la sécurité des transports (BST) est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Il s’acquitte de ce mandat en menant des enquêtes indépendantes sur certains événements de transport. Le but de ces enquêtes est d'identifier les causes et les facteurs contributifs et les lacunes de sécurité mises en évidence par un événement. Le BST publie ensuite un rapport et formule des recommandations pour améliorer la sécurité et réduire ou éliminer les risques pour les personnes, les biens et l'environnement.

Ce rapport trimestriel n’a pas fait l’objet d’une vérification externe ou d’un examen.

Méthode de présentation du rapport

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L’état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser du BST accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par le ministère. Les autorisations incluent les montants octroyés dans le Budget principal des dépenses pour l’exercice financier 2014-2015 et tous revenus gagnés et disponibles pour une utilisation à la fin du trimestre. Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d’information financière à l’égard de l’utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l’autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l’entremise de lois sur les crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l’entremise de lois sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Le BST utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice intégrale pour la préparation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel, conformément aux politiques comptables du Conseil du Trésor, lesquelles sont conformes aux principes comptables généralement reconnus au Canada pour le secteur public. Toutefois, les autorisations de dépenser votées par le Parlement sont encore en fonction d’une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

État des autorisations

Le BST a reçu un financement du Budget principal des dépenses au montant de 29 042 $ milliers de dollars (soit 25 757 $ milliers de dollars pour les dépenses de fonctionnement et 3 285 $ milliers de dollars pour les régimes d’avantages sociaux). Au cours du deuxième trimestre, le BST a reçu le report du budget de fonctionnement (RBF) pour 2013-2014, ce qui représente une augmentation d’autorisations de 657 $ milliers de dollars. Le BST a des autorisations législatives additionnelles totalisant 24 $ milliers de dollars à la fin du deuxième trimestre, générées par le produit de l’aliénation des biens excédentaires de l'État et l’autorisation de dépenser les recettes en tant qu'établissement public.

Le financement total disponible au BST a augmenté de 126 $ milliers de dollars entre les exercices financiers 2014-2015 et 2013-2014. Cette différence à la fin du deuxième trimestre est expliquée par les facteurs suivants :

  • une différence temporaire dans la réception du RBF de l’exercice précédent. En 2014-2015, le RBF de 657 $ milliers de dollars a été reçu dans le deuxième trimestre tandis qu’en 2013-2014, le RBF n’était reçu qu’en troisième trimestre;
  • une réduction de 437 $ milliers de dollars pour les mesures d’économie annoncées au Budget 2012 (une réduction de 1 283 $ milliers de dollars mise en œuvre pour l’exercice financier 2014-2015 comparativement à une réduction de 846 $ milliers de dollars mise en œuvre pour l’exercice financier 2013-2014); et
  • une diminution du taux du régime d’avantages sociaux établi par le SCT (16,5 % des salaires en 2014-2015 par rapport à 17,4 % en 2013-2014).

État des dépenses ministérielles budgétaires

Les dépenses cumulatives du ministère sont supérieures de 2 048 $ milliers de dollars ou de 15 % au cours de l’exercice courant par rapport à celles de 2013-2014. Cette augmentation des dépenses peut être attribuable aux facteurs suivants :

  • une charge de 723 $ milliers de dollars afin de mettre en oeuvre le paiement de transition versé par le gouvernement du Canada pour les arriérés de salaire, sans affecter la paie des employés sur le registre des salaires à la date de mise en œuvre;
  • des dépenses de 622 $ milliers de dollars pour la réception et l’installation d’un système de tomodensitométrie par rayons X, qui avaient été prévues pour le dernier trimestre de 2013-2014, dont la livraison a été reportée par le fournisseur jusqu’au premier trimestre de 2014-2015;
  • une augmentation dans les coûts de personnel en raison de 360 $ milliers de dollars pour les augmentations économiques de salaires pour les employés sous conventions collectives ainsi qu’une augmentation de 340 $ milliers de dollars pour les paiements d’indemnités de départ ce qui est principalement attribuables à la liquidation d’indemnités de départ cumulatifs selon les conventions collectives; et
  • une augmentation dans les coûts des services professionnels de 131 $ milliers de dollars ou 16 % dans l’exercice courant résultant du transfert de services de rémunération à un fournisseur de services communs et une augmentation dans les frais juridiques.

Ces augmentations sont compensées par une baisse de dépenses dans la catégorie de transports et communications de 128 $ milliers de dollars ou 19 % dans l’exercice courant, principalement en raison d’une baisse d’exigences de voyage.

Comme l’illustre la figure 1, le BST a dépensé environ 54 % de ses autorisations à la fin du deuxième trimestre. Cela représente des dépenses d’environ 6 % plus grandes que celles de l’exercice précédent, ce qui s’explique par les importantes opérations qui ont augmenté les dépenses depuis le début de l’année, comme expliquées ci-dessus.

Figure 1. Dépenses du deuxième trimestre par rapport aux autorisations annuelles

Risques et incertitudes

Le BST est financé au moyen de crédits annuels. Par conséquent, ses activités sont touchées par tous changements apportés au financement approuvé par le Parlement. En tant qu’établissement public, il est autorisé à dépenser les recettes perçues pendant l'exercice malgré le fait que ces recettes sont minimes, elles représentent en moyenne moins de 1 % des besoins de financement du ministère.

Un risque continu à la situation financière du BST est que les dépenses sont en grande partie influencées par le nombre et la complexité des événements de transport. Un accident de transport important ou un ensemble d'événements de moindre importance pourrait faire augmenter considérablement les dépenses et entraîner des pressions sur les ressources qui pourraient faire en sorte que le ministère ait à demander des fonds supplémentaires du Parlement.

De plus, dans le budget de 2014, il a été annoncé que les budgets de fonctionnement des ministères sont gelés pour 2014-2015 et 2015-2016. Cela représente un risque pour le BST, car aucun financement ne lui sera alloué pour couvrir les augmentations salariales entrant en vigueur pendant cette période, ou les effets continus de ces ajustements. Par conséquent, le ministère devra couvrir ces montants en utilisant ses propres crédits. Le BST fait la mise en œuvre des restrictions supplémentaires du financement afin de s’assurer que ce risque est atténué.

Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Au cours de l’exercice 2013-2014, le BST a commencé une enquête sur un accident majeur, soit le déraillement d’un train transportant du pétrole brut au centre-ville de Lac-Mégantic au Québec le 6 juillet 2013. En 2013-2014, le BST a reçu des fonds additionnels allant jusqu’à 965 $ milliers de dollars dans le cadre du Budget supplémentaire B afin de couvrir les coûts d’enquête différentiels encourus pendant les phases de travail sur le terrain et d’analyse de cette importante enquête. L’enquête de Lac-Mégantic représente toujours une lourde charge de travail pour le BST en 2014-2015, en particulier dans les domaines des heures supplémentaires, du personnel à court terme, des entrepreneurs et des déplacements. La publication du rapport final de l’enquête de Lac-Mégantic a eu lieu en août 2014 et le coût différentiel pour la conclusion de l’enquête est estimé à 340 $ milliers de dollars.

Mise en œuvre du Budget 2012

La présente section donne un aperçu des mesures d’économie annoncées dans le Budget 2012 et qui sont mises en œuvre dans le but de recentrer le gouvernement et les programmes, de faciliter les rapports des Canadiens et des entreprises avec leur gouvernement ainsi que de moderniser et de rationaliser les services administratifs.

Le budget de 2012 exige au BST de réduire ses dépenses de fonctionnement par 1 283 $ milliers de dollars d’ici 2014-2015, une réduction nette d'environ 4,3 % de son budget de 2012-2013. Pour l'exercice 2014-2015, la réduction du financement de 1 283 $ milliers de dollars consiste d’une réduction des crédits de fonctionnement du BST de 1 118 $ milliers de dollars et d’une réduction de l’autorisation législative pour régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés de 165 $ milliers de dollars. Le BST a éliminé des postes et a réduit les dépenses dans les services professionnels et les services spéciaux ainsi que dans les transports et les communications afin de satisfaire aux réductions de financement.

Au cours de l’exercice 2014-2015, le BST continue à revoir ses opérations en vue d’identifier les efficacités, de veiller à répondre aux réductions de financement de 2014-2015 et de maintenir les niveaux budgétaires réduits au cours des exercices financiers à venir. Jusqu’à présent, le BST a mis en œuvre les réductions de financement sans compromettre le nombre ou la qualité de ses enquêtes ou la ponctualité de ses communications en matière de sécurité.

Approbation des cadres supérieurs

Approuvé par :

Document de source signée par
La présidente,
Kathleen Fox

Document de source signée 2014-11-24
Date
Gatineau, Canada

Document de source signée par
La dirigeante principale des finances
Chantal Lemyre, CPA, CGA

Document de source signée 2014-11-24
Date
Gatineau, Canada


État des autorisations (non vérifié)

Exercice 2014-2015 (en milliers de dollars)Footnote 1

  Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015 Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2014 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Budget principal des dépenses : Crédit 1 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 26 414 7 120 14 477
Budget principal des dépenses : Autorisations législatives budgétaires – Régimes d’avantages sociaux des employés 3 285 822 1 643
Autorisations législatives budgétaires – Dépenses des produits de l’aliénation des biens excédentaires de l'État 16 1 1
Autorisations législatives budgétaires – Dépenses paragraphe 29.1(1) de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques 8 - -
Autorisations totales pour utilisation 29 723 7 943 16 121

Note en bas de page

Note 1

Ne comprend que les autorisations accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

Retour à la note 1 référent

Exercice 2013-2014 (en milliers de dollars)Footnote 1

  Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2014 Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2013 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 10 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 26 063 6 518 12 278
Autorisations législatives budgétaires – Régimes d’avantages sociaux des employés 3 505 896 1 792
Autorisations législatives budgétaires – Dépenses des produits de l’aliénation des biens excédentaires de l'État 45 3 3
Autorisations législatives budgétaires – Dépenses paragraphe 29.1(1) de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques 8 - -
Total des autorisations 29 621 7 417 14 073
Budget 2013 - Affectation bloquée pour dépenses de voyage -24 - -
Autorisations totales pour utilisation 29 597 7 417 14 073

Note en bas de page

Note 1

Ne comprend que les autorisations accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

Retour à la note 1 référent

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifiées)

Exercice 2014-2015 (en milliers de dollars)Footnote 1

Dépenses Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015 Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2014 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Personnel 23 194 6 610 12 729
Transports et communications 1 699 395 558
Information 150 17 46
Services professionnels et spéciaux 2 219 678 946
Location 260 65 233
Services de réparation et d'entretien 495 82 132
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 301 73 103
Acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et ouvrages 0 0 0
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 675 220 650
Autres subventions et paiements 730 3 724
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 29 723 7 943 16 121

Note en bas de page

Note 1

Ne comprend que les autorisations accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

Retour à la note 1 référent

Exercice 2013-2014 (en milliers de dollars)Footnote 1

Dépenses Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2014 Dépensées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2013 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Personnel 23 520 6 193 12 029
Transports et communications 1 799 439 686
Information 142 27 45
Services professionnels et spéciaux 2 350 530 815
Location 230 63 220
Services de réparation et d'entretien 479 58 119
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 332 67 111
Acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et ouvrages 165 3 3
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 604 37 45
Sous-total des dépenses budgétaires nettes 29 621 7 417 14 073
Budget 2013 - Affectation bloquée pour dépenses de voyage
Réductions appliquées aux Transports et communications
-24 - -
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 29 597 7 417 14 073

Note en bas de page

Note 1

Ne comprend que les autorisations accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

Retour à la note 1 référent